Joe O'Sullivan Writers Prize

2017 Winner is  Guy Salvidge for 'The Centre Cannot Hold'

More details

To read winning entry click here


Joyce Parkes Writers Prize

2017 Winning entry 'Leaving Home' by Gina Dawson

To read winning entry click here





Congratulations to the winner and, indeed, to all the entrants for raising the bar in this year's competition. 

The Joyce Parkes Writers Prize is sponsored by the Australian Irish Heritage Association, which is based in Subiaco , Western Australia . Joyce Parkes is the patron of this prize, which is aimed at promoting and encouraging women as writers in Australia .

Joyce Parkes is a well known poet, living in WA. She has published poetry in the following; Canberra Times, ACT; Lip-Service, WA; Breakaway, WA; Artlook, WA; POETRY Australia, NSW; Fling!, Vic.; The Weekend Australian, NSW; Overland, Vic; Sepia, England; Walker on the Top Rail, WA; Westerly, WA; Patterns, WA; Fremantle Arts Review, WA; Wordhord, WA; Celebrations, WA; The Road of Poems and Borders, Finland; (M)other Tongues, Canada; The Sydney Morning Herald, NSW; The Phoenix Review, ACT; The Midland Reporter, WA; Social Images, ACT; Stet, SA; Pen International, England; Kalla Yeedip Arts, WA; The Western Review, WA; The Western Word, WA; The New England Review, NSW; PEN-Perth, WA; It's a Woman's World, PEN Germany; Thylazine's Poets for Peace Project, N.T.; Alison Croggon's Poets Against War; WA; m-a-g/, USA; The Journal, of the Australian Irish Heritage Association, WA.

First Prize is $500.00. This prize is run annually, and is open to all female writers in Australia .

Further details regarding entry rules and topics may be found at the AIHA website;


The Australian Irish Heritage Association would like to congratulate all entrants.